We support Karen Monroe for Alameda County Superintendent of Schools.

Endorse Karen!




✏ Eric Swalwell - United States Congressman

✏ Loni Hancock - California State Senator


✏ Nancy Skinner - California State Assemblymember

✏ Bill Quirk - California State Assemblymember

✏ Rob Bonta - California State Assemblymember

✏ Joan Buchanan - California State Assemblymember

✏ Isadore Hall, III - California State Assemblymember 

✏ Dion Aroner - California State Assemblymember (ret.)


✏ Wilma Chan - Alameda County Supervisor (District 3)

✏ Richard Valle Alameda County Supervisor (District 2)

✏ Nate Miley Alameda County Supervisor (District 4)

✏ Keith Carson Alameda County Supervisor (District 5)


 Pat Kernighan President, Oakland City Council 

✏ Lynette Gibson McElhaney Councilmember, City of Oakland

✏ Noel Gallo Councilmember, City of Oakland

✏ Dick Spees - Former Councilmemeber, City of Oakland

✏ Tom Bates Mayor, City of Berkeley

✏ Darryl Moore Councilmember, City of Berkeley

✏ Laurie Capitelli Councilmember, City of Berkeley 

✏ Jesse Arreguín Councilmember, City of Berkeley

✏ Linda Maio Councilmember, City of Berkeley

✏ Vinnie Bacon Vice Mayor, City of Fremont

✏ Raj Salwan Councilmember, City of Fremont

✏ Alan L. Nagy - Mayor, City of Newark

✏ Bill Harrison - Mayor, City of Fremont


✏ Tom Torlakson - California State Superintendent of Public Instruction


✏ Sheila Jordan - Alameda County Superintendent of Schools

✏ Joaquin Rivera - Trustee (Area 1), Alameda County Office of Education

✏ Ken Berrick - Trustee (Area 3), Alameda County Office of Education

Fred Sims Trustee (Area 5), Alameda County Office of Education


Dr. Gary Yee - Superintendent, Oakland Unified School District

✏ Jody London - School Board Member, Oakland Unified School District

✏ Annie Campbell Washington - School Board Member, Oakland Unified School District

✏ Roseann Torres - School Board Member, Oakland Unified School District

James Harris - School Board Member, Oakland Unified School District

✏ David Kakishiba - School Board President, Oakland Unified School District 

✏ Jumoke Hodge - School Board Vice President, Oakland Unified School District 

✏ Josh Daniels - School Board President, Berkeley Unified School District 

✏ Julie Sinai - School Board Director, Berkeley Unified School District

✏ Judy Appel - School Board Member, Berkeley Unified School District

✏ Karen Hemphill - School Board Member, Berkeley Unified School District

✏ Miguel Dwin - School Board Member, Emeryville Unified School District

✏ John Taylor - School Board President, Hayward Unified School District

✏ Dr. Annette Walker School Board Vice President, Hayward Unified School District

✏ Lisa Brunner - School Board Member, Hayward Unified School District

✏ Desrie Campbell - School Board Vice President, Fremont Unified School District 

✏ Lara Calvert-York - School Board President, Fremont Unified School District

✏ Jeff Bowser - School Board President, Pleasanton Unified School District

 Jamie Yee Hintzke School Board Member, Pleasanton Unified School District

✏ Valerie Arkin - School Board Member, Pleasanton Unified School District

✏ Amy Miller - School Board Member, Dublin Unified School District

 Sarabjit Cheema - School Board Member, New Haven Unified School District

✏ Nancy Thomas - School Board President, Newark Unified School District

✏ Gary Stadler - School Board Member, Newark Unified School District

✏ Ray Rodriguez - School Board Member, Newark Unified School District

✏ Kate Runyon - School Board President, Livermore Valley Joint Unified School District

✏ Molleen Barnes - Superintendent, Sunol Glen Unified School District

✏ Bill Schaff - School Board Member, Alameda Unified School District (ret.)

 Michael Watkins Superintendent, Santa Cruz County Office of Education


 Abel Guillen Trustee, Peralta Community College

 Michelle Brown - Trustee, Peralta Community College

 Garrett Yee - Trustee, Ohlone Community College

✏ Janet Rivera - Trustee, San Joaquin Delta College

✏ Gail Kaufman - Deputy Director, UC Berkeley Center for Educational Partnerships


✏ Laura Monroe - Teacher, Principal, Berkeley Unified School District (ret.)

✏ Becky Wheat - Principal, Berkeley Unified School District (ret.)

✏ Alton Jelks - Public Administration Department, California State University East Bay

✏ Irma Parker - Parent Liason, Berkeley Unified School District

✏ Melinda Martin - Educational Specialist

✏ Gernert Lorenzen - Teacher, Principal, Oakland Unified School District (ret.)

✏ Alison McDonald - Executive Officer, Oakland Unified School District (ret.)

✏ Rennu Dhillon - Founder, Genius Kids Early Learning Education Centers

✏ Ron P. Muriera - Trustee, California History Center and Foundation at De Anza College

✏ Dr. Janet Holmgren - CEO, Patten University

✏ Romeo Garcia - Executive Director, Peralta Community Colleges Foundation


✏ California Teachers Association (CTA)

✏ Alameda County Central Labor Council (AFL - CIO)

✏ Northern California Laborers Local 304

✏ SEIU Local 1021

✏ Building & Construction Trades Council of Alameda County

✏ Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) - Region 6

✏ OakPAC (Oakland Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce) 


✏ Alameda County Democratic Party

✏ Berkeley Democratic Club

✏ East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club

✏ John George Democratic Club

✏ Tri-Cities Democratic Forum

✏ Asian Pacific American (APA) Democratic Caucus of Alameda County


✏ Lovisa Brown - Director of Education, Museum of the African Diaspora

✏ Michael Colbruno - Commissioner, Port of Oakland

✏ Earl Crawford - Pastor, Praises of Zion Church

✏ Kathy Dwyer - Executive Director, Harbor House

Jim Falaschi - President, Jack London Square Partners & Transbay Holding Company

✏ Eric Flowers - President and CEO, Ramsell Corp.

Mark Friedman - Executive Director, Every Child Counts - First 5 Alameda County

✏ John Gooding - Consultant, Quadric Group Inc.

John Guillory - Partner, NORTHBRIDGE Real Estate Investments & Principal, Concordis Advisors

✏ Dr. Jim Hanson - Physician, Children's Hospital & Research Center - Oakland 

Amana Harris - Director, ArtEsteem/Attitudinal Healing Connection

 Julie Holcomb - Trustee, Berkeley Public Library & Executive Board Member, Berkeley Democratic Club

✏ Brett Badelle - Political Director & VP of Finance, Black Young Democrats of the East Bay

✏ Mary T. Hernández - Attorney, Garcia, Hernández, Sawhney & Bermudez, LLP

Wayne Jordan - Principal, Jordan Real Estate Investments – Oakland

✏ Quinn Delaney - President, Akonadi Foundation

✏ Ann Lauer - Rick & Ann's Restaurant – Berkeley

✏ Bob Macklin - Bishop, Glad Tidings (Hayward, Ca.)

✏ Karen Meryash - Advisor, MathWorks

Major General Paul Monroe - 42nd Adjutant General of the California National Guard (ret.)

✏ Louise Music - Coordinator, Alameda County Arts Learning

Wandra & Clarence Boyd - District Advisory Committee (DAC) Members, OUSD Family & Community Office

✏ Rena Rickles - Attorney, Rickles Law

Julius Robinson - Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) Officer & Group Head, Union Bank

 Paul Russo - President & CEO, American Blinds and Draperies, Inc.

✏ Reid Saaris - Executive Director, Equal Opportunity Schools

✏ Shonda Scott - CEO, 360 Total Concept

Charlie Stimson - Executive Director, Bridge the Chasm - Oakland

Zack Wasserman - Attorney, Wendel Rosen Black & Dean LLP

 Cynthia Wasko-Mazzola - Resources Development Manager, Alameda County Office of Education 

 Ann Wettrich- Administrator, California College of the Arts

✏ Patricia Danielson, RHIT - Board Member, Washington Hospital Healthcare System

✏ Deneen Ogbeide - Alameda County Central Democratic Committee

✏ Joel Cohen - Board Member, Berkeley Democratic Club & East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club


Interested in endorsing Karen Monroe? Please fill out our official endorsement form online or contact Trey Sims at trey@karenmonroe.org. Thank you for your support!